17 Things You Didn’t Know About Sleep.

Wonderful Poster – Tons of good info. Thank You Psychology Degree.net

The 17th Thing You Didn’t Know About Sleep is that, sleep is when you make your metabolic enzymes. Today almost everyone is short on good quality sleep in sufficient amounts.

A few years back,  I was really burning the candle at both ends and ended up totally burning out of my adrenals. I was so exhausted, I slept 20 hours a day for 5 months.  I was diagnosed with extreme adrenal fatigue. The prescription = Lots of good sleep,  as much as I could handle.  Vitamin/ mineral supplementation and a diet that included drinking water, comfort foods like simple starches, eggs, lots of fresh greens, vegetables and fruits that would rebuild energy stores but keep the colon clear due to lack of exercise.

My husband would wake me for meals and snacks and I would immediately fall back asleep. If I stopped moving – I feel asleep. I had to stop driving for a while because I was falling asleep during red lights and while driving. Then one day I got up and the exhaustion was gone . BUT I had gone from a size 13 – 14 to a size 6 -7.  During my sleep sabbatical,  I ate better, more consistently and more, yet I lost weight. Easiest weight I have ever lost other than having a baby. (LOL)

I talked to my doctor who gave the name of a nutritionist. She said a big player in todays obesity epidemic is the lack of good sleep.  We are not making or releasing the metabolic enzymes and hormones we need to properly metabolize and use food so WE STORE THOSE CALORIES AS FAT!

One thought on “17 Things You Didn’t Know About Sleep.

  1. Wow – so much of this seems to me like it’s utterly untrue. No one knows what other people dream about – not even the dreamers themselves, so how can they say that men dream of men more often than women do? No one really knows and any survey is merely a sample. The world of dreaming is so unexplored. Thanks for posting this – you may like my post today on dreaming of water – http://alycevayleauthor.com/2013/04/08/what-does-it-mean-to-dream-of-water/

    Like

Leave a Reply

